The Erasmus University of Rotterdam mooting team were crowned this year’s winners at the sixth Fox Williams Pre-Moot, which took place, virtually, over the weekend 27 February – 28 February as a precursor to the Vis Moot, which will start at the end of March. Runner-up was the NOVA School of Law, with third place being awarded to the University of Auckland. For the third time, the competition was held in association with the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators. The teams that competed were:

International teams

  • Aix-Marseille University (France)
  • Cardozo School of Law (USA)
  • Erasmus University of Rotterdam (Netherlands)
  • Higher School of Economics Moscow (Russia)
  • International Islamic University Malaysia
  • Jagiellonian University (Poland)
  • Lomonosov Moscow State University (Russia)
  • Moscow State Institute of International Relations (Russia)
  • National Law University Delhi (India)
  • New York Law School (USA)
  • NLIU Bhopal (India)
  • NOVA School of Law (Portugal)
  • Pontifícia Universidade Católica (Brazil)
  • University Cologne (Germany)
  • University of Auckland (New Zealand)
  • University of Berne (Switzerland)
  • University of Bologna (Italy)
  • University of Ljubljana (Slovenia)

UK & Ireland teams

  • Gray’s Inn
  • Middle Temple
  • Queen Mary University of London
  • University of Cambridge
  • UCL
  • University College Dublin

This year’s Pre-Moot was preceded by a panel debate chaired by Fox Williams international arbitration partner Peter Ashford, during which Professor Denis Mouralis, Marion Smith QC, Sir Nigel Teare and Robert-Jan Temmink QC, debated procedural issues arising in this year’s moot problem before a virtual room of experienced practitioners. To view the recording please click here.

Peter Ashford said: “This year we were thrilled to welcome our biggest group of teams ever, including several university teams new to this year’s competition. The virtual format permitted teams and arbitrators from further afield, who might not have travelled to an in-person moot, to participate.  Congratulations to all teams for the high standard of arguments (and to the coaches) and especially to the Erasmus University of Rotterdam, who were awarded first place in a very close contest.

“As ever, we are indebted to the many members of the arbitration and wider legal community who give their time as judges during the Pre-Moot in order. Finally, our thanks again to the CIArb for all their support and good luck to all teams taking part in the Vis Moot.”


Register for updates

Related legal expertise



Portfolio Close
Portfolio list
Title CV Email

Remove All